Keynote address: Sarah Drummond

© Photo by Mara Lavitt
October 14, 2021
Yale Divinity School Quad, New Haven, CT
Andover Newton Divinity School at Yale staff.

The Rev. Dr. Sarah B. Drummond, Founding Dean, Andover Newton Seminary at Yale Divinity School

Sarah’s keynote address will be “Sharing Leadership Into the Future.” It will include a description of the theology and history of the UCC’s leadership-sharing practices and consider how they are playing out and will play out, amidst uncertain times for institutions of all kinds, including faith communities.

Sarah’s Bio:

Sarah Birmingham Drummond serves as the Founding Dean of Andover Newton Seminary at Yale Divinity School. She has been part of Andover Newton since 2005. She serves as the seminary’s lead administrator, chief academic officer, and part of the senior leadership team at Yale Divinity School. She also teaches and writes about leadership and serves as a combination advisor/minister/mentor to students engaged in graduate theological education. Sarah earned her Ph.D. in Urban Education at the University of Wisconsin – Milwaukee with a specialization in administrative leadership. During those same years, she served as Campus Minister and Executive Director of University Christian Ministries, an ecumenical outreach at UWM. She is an ordained minister in the United Church of Christ. Sarah earned her Master of Divinity from Harvard Divinity School. Her Bachelor of Arts degree comes from Yale, where she majored in Ethics, Politics, and Economics.

Sarah has written five books on ministerial leadership and dozens of articles on the same. Her most recent books are Sharing Leadership: a UCC Way of Being In-Community and Intentional Leadership In-Between Times, published by the Pilgrim Press in 2021 and 2022 respectively. Sarah blogs weekly on ‘Medium’, and her current series is entitled “Ministry Demystified.” In that series, she uses a humorous and hopeful approach as she addresses the pressures and possibilities of leadership.


Sign up for our newsletter!


Contact Us

(608) 846-7880